State Representative Joe Sosnowski, R-Rockford, has signed as co-sponsor of an amendment to the Illinois Constitution filed in the House of Representatives on Thursday that would take the decennial process of redrawing legislative districts out of the hands of politicians in Springfield and instead establish an independent remap commission to ensure that districts are not drawn primarily to favor one political party over another.

The amendment Representative Sosnowski has signed on to co-sponsor is HJRCA 10, introduced by House Minority Leader Jim Durkin, R-Western Springs.  The amendment presently has 43 co-sponsors.

“It is long past time that we give voters the ability to end the practice of politicians choosing their own voters,” Sosnowski said.  “There is no mistaking that the current redistricting process is deeply flawed and must be reformed.” 
Katie Kelly

ROCKFORD – State Representative Joe Sosnowski, R-Rockford, has announced that Kathleen “Katie” Kelly of Roscoe has joined his staff as Legislative Aide for the 69th District effective January 14. Kelly manages Sosnowski’s District Office located at 305 Amphitheater Drive in Rockford and handles all constituent casework. Prior to joining Representative Sosnowski’s office, Kelly was a Victim Service Provider for the DUI/ Major Traffic Unit with the Winnebago County State’s Attorney’s Office since 2015.        

“I am pleased to welcome Katie Kelly to our team and look forward to her maintaining the excellent standard of constituent service our office prides itself in,” Representative Sosnowski said. “Katie will be a strong advocate for constituents interacting with state agencies and programs and help to keep local residents informed of everything I’m working on in Springfield and here at home.” 

“I am thrilled to be working in Representative Sosnowski’s office,” Kelly said. “This position is an excellent opportunity to get to know more people in our wonderful community. I look forward to serving the people of Winnebago and Boone Counties.”
Inauguration of the 101st General Assembly in Springfield.

State Representatives Joe Sosnowski, R-Rockford, and John Cabello, R-Machesney Park, took the oath of office for a new term on Wednesday, joining all 118 members of the Illinois House of Representatives for the inauguration of the 101st General Assembly held at the Sangamon Auditorium. Sosnowski has served the 69th District since 2011 and Cabello has represented the 68th District since 2012.
“We are going to fight against proposed tax increases and work together to find common ground with the new Governor on needed changes to create jobs, strengthen schools and enact true property tax relief,” Cabello and Sosnowski said. “Illinois presently ranks second in the nation for people leaving for lower taxes and better opportunities elsewhere. Our first and most immediate priority in 2019 is to reverse this trend by making Illinois more competitive for job creators and more affordable for families and seniors.”

The House of Representatives for the new 101st General Assembly is comprised of 74 Democrats and 44 Republicans. Representative Michael J. Madigan of Chicago was re-elected Speaker of the House for another two-year term. Representative Jim Durkin of Western Springs was re-elected Minority Leader.